Within the San Giovanni mining complex (municipality of Iglesias), the "Santa Barbara Cave" site is currently open to visitors. The D-511 trail starts from the gravel square in front of the mine.
History
Granted in 1867 to the Gonnesa Mining Company Limited, the mine passed through various companies until it became public in 1982. A massive entrance with a concrete canopy provides access to the facilities located along the road and then distributed on the slopes of the hill over a vast area, profoundly altered by human activity. Buildings from different eras, constructed with diverse technologies, highlight the progressive evolution of mineral extraction practices. The machinery, often disused, testifies to the necessary updating of processing mechanisms, making the mine a significant example of industrial archaeology. The Norman village is located in the upper part, amidst lush woods that give way to an increasingly barren and severe landscape as the mountain rises. The mine is part of the Geo-mining, 1 Historical, and Environmental Park of Sardinia, recognized by UNESCO.All’interno del complesso minerario di San Giovanni (comune di IGlesias) è attualmente visitabile il sito della "Grotta di Santa Barbara".
Nel piazzale in ghiaia antistante la miniera parte il sentiero D-511
Services
Guided tours. In the months of January, February, and March, guided tours of the "Santa Barbara Cave" depart at staggered times: 10:30 AM, 12:00 PM, 2:00 PM, and 3:30 PM; the guided tour lasts approximately 1.5 hours. The guided tour includes entry into the mine via a motorized train and an elevator; access to the cave is via a spiral staircase. Guided tours are available in Italian and English.
History of Studies
The mining facilities of Iglesias are mentioned in several works on industrial archaeology in Sardinia