The imposing mining complex at the gates of the city of Iglesias, although located in a territory exploited since very distant times, only took on the shape we can still see today in the mid-1800s, thanks to a concession from the Kingdom of Sardinia.
Directed first by Giulio Keller, a skilled Hungarian engineer, and then by the just twenty-three-year-old Adolfo Pellegrini, the works gave rise to the splendid Bellavista building, the headquarters of the management, housing for the miners, shops, some washing plants for the sorting of minerals and the structures for the extractive activity, among which the most important were: Pozzo Sella and Pozzo Vittorio Emanuele, connected by the Villamarina Gallery.
In its golden period, Monteponi housed up to 1000 workers. Today, anyone who wants to get an idea of the mining past of Sulcis must absolutely visit the now abandoned village that stands imposing and a bit ghostly on the slope of a hill a few kilometers from the city.
Contacts: sito visit Iglesias